About Me

Hello, and welcome to my corner of the web! Allow me to introduce myself: I’m a scientist and a musician, a do-it-yourself remodeler and a crafter, a programmer and web designer. I live on Cape Cod with my husband and cats, and work (at least part of the time) in Woods Hole, where I’ve been since 2005.

I grew up in Colchester, a small but growing town in the center of CT. My mother owned a local gift shop, and we were always surrounded by friends and neighbors wherever we went. I graduated in 2000 from Bacon Academy, the town’s public high school, after spending my four years exploring a multitude of interests with the help of many dedicated and creative folks. I got to spend my afternoons working on sets and playing in the pits for school and town theater performances, playing music in town and around NE, pursuing exciting topics in math, science, & engineering, learning and teaching GIS software, exploring molecular biology and organic chemistry, getting muddy with Project Oceanology, and doubtless other things that aren’t coming to mind at the moment. And all before there was internet or cell phones…

Almost 15 years later, I’m happy to say that life is essentially the same (except for the internet and cell phone). I get muddy playing in the ocean on a regular basis in the name of science, perform music at various venues in the area, work with GIS software, explore new techniques and areas of science, and generally have more things to do than time to do them in. I definitely can’t complain; I’m doing what I love in a great place, surrounded by a wonderful group of colleagues and friends.